Hi fellow wiki editors!

To help newly registered users get more familiar with the wiki (and maybe older users too) there is now a {{Welcome to the wiki}} template. Have a look at it and feel free to add it to new users discussion pages (and perhaps your own).

I have tried to keep the template short, but meaningful. /Johan G

De/$FG ROOT

From FlightGear wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Die Variable $FG_ROOT verweist auf das Hauptverzeichnis von FlightGear, das das sogenannte Basispaket ((en) base package ) oder auch FGData. Das Basispaket beinhaltet das Standardflugzeug (Cessna 172P), die Standardszenerie, die GUI-Dateien, Geräusche, 3D Modelle, usw.

Wenn Du Flightgear aus der (CMD) Kommandozeile startest, kannst Du $FG_ROOT mit --fg-root=path/to/root festlegen. Im Qt Launcher wird er auf der Einstellungsseite eingestellt.

Seit Flightgear 2.4 wird dazu geraten, weitere Scenery und Flugzeuge außerhalb des $FG_ROOT, in die speziellen Verzeichnisse $FG_SCENERY und $FG_AIRCRAFT zu installieren. Dadurch muss bei der Installation neuer FG-Versionen nicht mehr darauf geachtet werden, dass die Flugzeuge nicht aus Versehen mit gelöscht werden.

Übliche Pfade

  • Mac_OS_X:
Applications/FlightGear.app/Contents/Resources/data/ (Rechtsklick auf FlightGear.app und dann "Show Package Contents" wählen, um den Contents Folder zu öffnen)
Hinweis  In Mac OS X wird $FG_ROOT nicht automatisch installiert. Schaue in die Installationsanleitung unter Neu bei FlightGear.
  • Ubuntu:
/usr/share/games/flightgear/
  • Windows:
Program Files\FlightGear 2016.1.1\data\ (Standardpfad)
HinweisWindows ist sehr empfindlich, wenn es um die Intallationen in den Program Files Ordner geht. Dieser Vorgang wird sehr wahrscheinlich den Schreibschutz ansprechen. Daher wird es ab Windows Vista davon abgeraten, FlightGear in Program Files zu installieren (Ich habe schon Fälle gesehen, bei denen nach der Installation in einen anderen Ordner FlightGear problemlos lief - Jaxsin[1])

$FG_DATA

Manchmal wird $FG_ROOT irrtümlich auch $FG_DATA genannt. Auch wenn es keine $FG_DATA Environment Variable gibt, ist das Basispaket auf dem SourceForge repository als FGData zu finden. (Auf Gitorious hieß es auch schon fgdata)[2][3]

Quellen

  1. FlightGear User Jaxsin 30.03.2016
  2. https://www.mail-archive.com/search?q=fgdata&l=flightgear-devel%40lists.sourceforge.net
  3. https://www.mail-archive.com/search?l=flightgear-devel%40lists.sourceforge.net&q=fg_data&x=0&y=0

$FG ROOT

From FlightGear wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

The environment variable $FG_ROOT is referring to the path of the main data directory of FlightGear, which contains the so called base package, also known as FGData. The base package consists of the default aircraft and scenery, GUI files, sounds, 3D models etc.

When running FlightGear from a command line, you can set $FG_ROOT via --fg-root=path/to/root. In FGRun, it is set on the paths page, previous to the aircraft selection page.

As of FlightGear 2.4, it is advised to install additional scenery and aircraft in $FG_SCENERY and $FG_AIRCRAFT directories outside $FG_ROOT. This allow for maintaining the additional stuff when installing a new version of FlightGear.

Common paths

  • Mac OS X: Applications/FlightGear.app/Contents/Resources/data/ (right-click on FlightGear.app and select "Show Package Contents" to see the Contents folder)
$FG_ROOT is not installed automatically. See New to FlightGear for an installation manual.
  • Ubuntu: /usr/share/games/flightgear/
  • Windows: Program Files\FlightGear 2016.1.1\data\ (default, see note!)
Note  Newer Windows versions are very, very protective about the Program Files folder.

Installing FlightGear into this folder makes it prone to any problems relating to file read/write permissions. Hence, installing FlightGear into Program Files on Windows Vista and later is not recommended. (I have yet to see where installing it outside of the default location actually helps - jaxsin)

$FG_DATA

You will sometimes see $FG_ROOT erroneously being mentioned as $FG_DATA. While there is no $FG_DATA environment variable, the SourceForge repository containing the base package is named FGData and was earlier named fgdata in Gitorious.[1][2]

References

  1. https://www.mail-archive.com/search?q=fgdata&l=flightgear-devel%40lists.sourceforge.net
  2. https://www.mail-archive.com/search?l=flightgear-devel%40lists.sourceforge.net&q=fg_data&x=0&y=0